Writing 101- The love had to…

Writing 101- Compose a series of vignettes

Tonight I had dinner together with the memories of last night, when I tasted my loneliness accompanied with you.

February of 1993
Marietta was a blonde, clever, educated woman and when I say “woman” I mean all the differences have a woman from a girl. First of all in the first sight of one met each other, she as woman embraced my appearance in a way that I as man made me afraid. Men always afraid of women not for what they are as much as what they might be. There is inside us a biased, dark image about women from the times of Adam and the damn apple. Don’t trust men that are too friends with a woman, they are or… something or… nothing. Anyway Marietta made me cover my face at first because I went in her heart and I was a very hard guy with a past and very experienced. Sheet, I embraced as well and as I was falling in love, I, yes I lost the earth under my feet.
The fact is that there was a man in her life so I had to give a fight to get her or to continue to whistle indifferent as I had done all the previous years. We matched, we explained the situation, and we found everything together. That period I lost my work for some other reasons and that was as… I lost my sword. Ha! I forget to mention, she was successful & had a certain situation for her life that I didn’t.
O.K. when I had to fight, what weapons should I have used, my beauty? I am not.
It had hurt a lot, when two years after our relationship, she told me that he didn’t love the other guy and to do something but my condition was worst than it was before and I let her married this guy. Bitter falls for the rest of my life, the train passed me and I had to ticket to embark or rather I hadn’t the courage to take advance of the situation. I blame myself but it had already been late when from their honeymoon called every little a while. She finished me and she had right. Women forgive those who exploit a situation but never those who lost one.

June of 2000
I had my new bike, I worked for the press and I planned my summer vacations. Marietta was there out of her tutorial English language and moved her hand to me. I stopped and as I had many years to seen her I embraced & kissed her. If you had wanted, she told me, we could have been together.
Oh my! Everything flashed me back almost 10 years ago or less. She was perfect, a mother of two boys, mature and innocent lady of my dreams. But… I am not as I evil as I look. Why should I have done that to her husband? Though she invited me to her new home- the old one I knew it very well- and I went. It was a perfect household with the rooms of children, the bedroom and the balcony where we sat.
Where is Dimitris ( her husband), I asked. He is working, taxi.
TAXI!? I exclaimed because I knew he wasn’t taxi driver.
Yes, what do you think, he is doing three different jobs so as to bring the same money as I do.
Marietta! But… he is an English teacher (as I am) how did you do that?
He has to offer what I do, therefore, he is in my school in the morning, the evening in his uncle’s work, (making frames for photos) and later he works taxi. That’s it!
With a relief in my lungs, I said inside me, thanks a lot Dimitris you have saved me, and outside of me I said “good well Marietta, you put him in the right place”.
He didn’t take me for my money and that’s all. He has to prove his love to me. I stepped out her family not wanting to disturb her serenity.

October of 2011
I teach English in the Cultural Center of our church and the need for English books of that level is a demand as they are very expensive for the students to buy them. So, I had the telephone number of Marietta and I asked to help me. She is positive to my proposal and as she had many free books she told me “to come and get it”. I met her in the square of her area a noon that the sun was bright and the sky was blue. Blue was my soul too but I bite my heart and go through this philanthropic meeting.
She was attractive as she always was. She was brilliant appearance and a…
I got the books we chanced some typical phrases with the sun in our eyes and a loving airy attract in the bodies.
When I left I said to myself “we didn’t meet Marietta but I love you, I do love you, you have to know that”.
The English class was great that year and though my mind goes many times to her embrace I don’t take a phone as she didn’t too. I know she loves me and she knows I love her. Though, we live separately. We have to concider and count with responsibility: What wrong with this Dimitris?
I didn’t want to do this to him as I don’t want to do someone this to me. Bone voyage Marietta.

Leave a Reply

